August 26th, 1888

Dear Brother & all:

I was very glad indeed to hear from you. I thought you had quite forgotten one. They say out of sight, out of mind, & I fancied it was true.

The weather here has been dreadfully wet all summer. Many acres of grass went, yet at Dronfield they would give anyone crops that would go & get them. The weather is so unsettled.

There have been lots of changes since you left. We have a bus running opposition from Hathersage 3 days a week, one from Castleton 4 days a week, M. Hall Bridge Inn, Bradwell 4 days a week.

John Cheetham is dead & they have had a sale of 5 horses, 3 heavy carts, dog trap, spring cart , [illegible, possibly:] 2 buggies & harness. I bought the best of the [buggies] for £8.15.0 & Michael Hall the other for £5.0.0

I am running to Sheffield 5 days a week now, we had some cussing for it on Saturday August 19th. I & the Castelton [illegible] was running from Sheffield & going down by Fox House. He could neither pull up his nor keep right, both of us having heavy loads on & I had 35 passengers he had 15. We both had 4 horses & in as first. He came pass me at full gallop, he runs his 2 & 2, you know, 4 in hand style. He nearly ran into me & when he got past I pulled up at Fox House but away he went until he came to the bend in the road just below & down he come with such a crash, both leaders running his wheelers straight over them. [illegible] one horse nearly killed and frightened everybody.

They picked one up for dead, but she is coming round all right; his [illegible] it is a smart one. They call it the Surprise. Large gilt letters & he advertises to run the journey in 2 hours & 50 minutes. He has 10 good horses to do the work. He drives in top white hat & yellow kid gloves, quite a proper swell.

I have got six of [the] best horses in the world, I can leave any of them anywhere. 3 5 year olds, 2 6 year olds & one aged the one we bred. They are the finest horses that ever was in Bradwell, not one failure. They all stand 16 hands high.

3 Bay Black Points
2 Blacks
1 Roan

The Bradwell people back me hand & heart. They all call M. Hall a rogue. We are pulled out-of-doors with work.

The new railway is coming, they have given the tenants notice for the land.

(Job) Charles Middleton has bought Top Cupalo & is going to build a fine house for himself.

Emma Jane has got married to T. Jeffrey of Smalldale this last weeks. They live at Leeds. There was 19 of us sat down to dinner. It was held at home. We had a proper time of it, I can tell you.

John Bradwell, Newburgh Arms, was taken ill & died very sudden & M. Hall has been at Hassop over taking it & everybody is crying shame over him. Father went & saw Taylor for himself & I am the next of list when Mrs. Bradwell leaves.

I think we are all very well in health, which I sincerely hope you are enjoying, give my kindest affections to your family, receiving the same yourself, [illegible] I remain,

Your true & sincere brother,
George Fox

Bradwell

PS: Tell Herbert & the lads to stick to their school & make men of themselves.

