March 12th, 1888

My Dear Brother & Sister,

I cannot tell you how glad I was to receive a letter from you, not having heard anything about you since you left England.

I was very sorry to hear of Sissey’s being dead, the little darling, & you will miss her so much. It does seem hard to part with the only girl, but she was too good for this world.

From your letter trade does not seem very bright, but things will be brighter when the warm weather is come, & if you are in need, you must let me know & if it is in power to help, I will willing do so.

Now I am going to give you some good news, you will be surprised to hear that Uncle Horatio died last July worth over nine thousand & he left us two hundred each, but we cannot get it until Aunt has been dead twelve months & she is alright up to now & came to live here in October, but shall be leaving in about six weeks.

I am going to be married to Tom Jeffrey at Whitsuntide or soon after. I went home last weekend & they are all very well. Father gets to look old, Hannah has been living in Manchester three months but it did not suit her & she had to go home for a few weeks. She is better & has got a place at Maccelsfield & Jemima is in a place at Middleton near Manchester. George is much the same. If you write to me soon, I shall get your letter before I leave here.

John Conway is married to Lizzie Ancock at Huck[illegible] & Jack Wragg to Claire Jeffrey, daughter Dennis & Robert Evans daughter were married at xmas & there are six or more coming of in a while. I don’t know where Tom and I are going to live, so that if you send any letters home, I shall be sure to get them & then can let you know where we settle down.

My dear Brother and Sister, I should like something of Sissy’s, if only the least thing. I think if she had been my own child I could not have loved her more, but she is better off. I hope the boys are all well. They will have another Uncle Tom soon, by the by. Mary Hannah Parkin [Darkin?] is to be married the first week in June to Jabor [Jacob?] Hall in Imalldale [Smalldale?]. Don’t you think it a proper leap year?

Well, I think I have not any more news to send. With much love & kisses, from your loving sister,

Emma Jane Fox

The Grange
Eccles, Manchester

PS: I am enclosing a [photo?] of Father and Hannah’s. Please write soon & tell me all particulars about your means for I couldn’t let you want if I could help you.